2020 offices for election

Budget Committee

Budget Committee members are responsible for preparing and reviewing the annual operating budget of the diocese. Primary work occurs in the spring, with collection and review of budget requests.

In 2020, we will elect:

  • One layperson for a three-year term (Class of 2023)
  • One layperson for a one-year  unexpired term (Class of 2021)

Diocesan Council

Diocesan Council members play a critical role in the governance of the diocese, acting as the “convention-between-conventions”. Members review the budget and mission share review requests, follow implementation of convention resolutions and work with the bishop on ministry and mission decisions in the diocese. Diocesan Council meets six times per year (or as called) typically at the Procter Center.

In 2020, we will elect:

  • Two clergy for a three-year term (Class of 2023)
  • Three laypersons for a three-year term (Class of 2023)

Disciplinary Board

The Disciplinary Board is called to carry out the duties described in Title IV.5.1 of the Episcopal Church. They convene only when needed.

In 2020, we will elect:

  • One layperson for a three-year term (Class of 2023)

Regional Disciplinary Board

The Dioceses of Northwestern Pennsylvania, Ohio, Pittsburgh, Southern Ohio, Western New York, and West Virginia have agreed to maintain a joint Disciplinary Board for the purposes of implementing Title IV of the Canons of The Episcopal Church (“Compact”). The new Regional Disciplinary board would become effective January 1, 2021, if approved by all six dioceses at their annual conventions. Our current diocesan Disciplinary Board would then be dissolved.

The Regional Disciplinary Board (“RDB”) shall consist of thirteen (13) persons, seven (7) of whom are Clergy and six (6) of whom are Laity, and shall constitute a court for purposes of Article IX of the Constitution of The Episcopal Church. Each of the dioceses shall elect one clergy member and one lay member on the RDB. The thirteenth member, a clergy member, shall be nominated by the RDB and subject to the unanimous approval by the bishops of the member dioceses. Eventually, each member of the RDB will serve a three-year term, each term to begin on January 1 following appointment or election.

In 2020, we will elect:

  • One layperson for a term to be determined by the RDB
  • One clergy for a term to be determined by the RDB

Standing Committee

Standing Committee serves as the bishop’s council of advice. It shares responsibility for the ordination process, is consulted for consent for the election and consecration of new bishops in the church and reviews requests from congregations to encumber their property. This group also carries out a mutual ministry review with the bishop. The committee meets monthly, primarily at Diocesan House or the Procter Center.

In 2020, we will elect:

  • One clergy for a three-year term (Class of 2023)
  • One layperson for a three-year term (Class of 2023)

Trustees of the Church Foundation

The Trustees of the Church Foundation are responsible for administering loans and funds for church buildings as well as some oversight over diocesan-owned properties. Trustees meet quarterly, with the location rotating around the diocese.

In 2020, we will not elect any Trustees of the Church Foundation. Due to an error some years back, there is no opening for a Trustee in 2020.


Trustees of the diocese

Trustees of the diocese (also known as the Procter trustees) is the group responsible for management of diocesan and certain other investments and property owned by the diocese; and for serving as the board of advisors to the bishop on administration of the William Cooper Procter Memorial Fund. Trustees meet quarterly, typically in Cincinnati.

In 2020, we will elect:

  • One layperson OR clergy for a five-year term (Class of 2025)

Procter Center Board of Directors

Procter Center’s Board of Directors is accountable to the bishop for all aspects of the day-to-day operation of the center in coordination with the center’s three stakeholders; i.e., the Church Foundation. the Trustees of the Diocese & Diocesan Council.

In 2020, we will elect:

  • One layperson or clergy for a three-year term (Class of 2023)

Deputies to General Convention

Diocesan conventions elect deputies as members of the House of Deputies of the Episcopal Church’s triennial General Convention. The General Convention sets the mission priorities, budget and policies of the Episcopal Church for the next three years. It approves changes to the Church’s Constitution and Canons, and broadly defines the standards of worship.

Deputies and bishops cannot be instructed to vote one way or another by their diocese. They agree to come to General Convention with an open heart so that they can prayerfully listen to others and be led by the Holy Spirit. And, they cannot refuse to vote on an issue.

Deputies to the 2021 General Convention were elected in 2019. Due to changes in clergy canonical residence for some clergy deputies, the first alternate has now been changed to 4th clergy deputy, leaving us just one clergy alternate. Therefore, in 2020, we will elect 3 clergy as alternate deputies to General Convention.

Need help with anything Convention related?  Our staff is here for you!