Brief descriptions of the offices accepting nominations at the 144th annual convention

  • Budget Committee members are responsible for preparing and reviewing the annual operating budget of the diocese. Primary work occurs in the spring, with collection and review of budget requests.
  • Diocesan Council, acting as the convention-between-conventions, plays a critical role in the governance of the diocese. Members review the budget and mission share review requests, follow implementation of convention resolutions and work with the bishop on ministry and mission decisions in the diocese. Diocesan Council meets six times per year (or as called) typically at the Procter Center.
  • The Disciplinary Review Board carries out the duties described in Title IV.5.1 of the Episcopal Church in the event of clergy misconduct. Members should be knowledgeable in Canon or Civil Law.
  • The Episcopal Community Services Foundation is a self-governing, self-supporting foundation for local ministry across the diocese. Through education and grant programs designed for congregational based outreach ministry, ECSF encourages, supports and creates opportunities for Episcopalians to help other Episcopalians serve God and neighbor. The ECSF Board meets 4-6 times per year, usually at Procter Center.
  • The Standing Committee serves as the bishop’s council of advice. It shares responsibility for the ordination process, is consulted for consent for the election and consecration of new bishops in the church and reviews requests from congregations to encumber their property. This group also carries out a mutual ministry review with the bishop. The committee meets monthly, primarily at Diocesan House or the Procter Center.
  • The Trustees of the diocese (also known as the Procter trustees) is the group responsible for management of diocesan and certain other investments and property owned by the diocese; and for serving as the board of advisors to the bishop on administration of the William Cooper Procter Fund. Trustees meet quarterly, typically in Cincinnati.
  • Trustees of the Church Foundation are responsible for administering loans and funds for church buildings as well as some oversight over diocesan-owned properties. Trustees meet quarterly, with the location rotating around the diocese.
  • Procter Center’s Board of Directors is accountable to the bishop for all aspects of the day-to-day operation of the center in coordination with the center’s three stakeholders; i.e., the Church Foundation. the Trustees of the Diocese & Diocesan Council.

The deadline for nominations that will be posted online prior to the preconvention meetings is September 28, 2018. Direct any questions to nominations chair Jon B. Boss at

Budget Committee / three year term
Elect 1 clergy, Class of ‘21

Diocesan Council / three year term
Elect 2 clergy and 3 lay, Class of ‘21

Episcopal Community Services Foundation board / three year term
Elect 3 lay, Class of ‘21 (*)

Standing Committee / three year term
Elect 1 clergy and 1 lay, Class of ‘21

Trustees of the Church Foundation / five year term
Elect 1 clergy or lay, Class of ’23 

Trustees of the Diocese / five year term
Elect 1 clergy or lay, Class of ‘23

Procter Center Board of Directors / three year term
Elect 1 clergy or lay, Class of ‘21

(*) If interested in serving on ECSF board, please contact the Rev. Theresa Thornton at prior to submitting a nomination.