148th Consent Agenda

148th Draft Consent Agenda

The filing of a consent agenda before a legislative body is the practice of combining routine business and reports that require action into a single agenda item as a time-saving measure. All the business on a consent agenda is then approved in one action rather than taking the time to file them separately.

It is important to note that any clergy or lay delegate may request that an item be moved off the consent agenda and placed back on to the main agenda.

1.    Rules of Order
2.    Supplemental Rules of Order
3.    Convention Agenda
4.    Granting Credentials

a.  In addition to those already granted seat and voice by the Constitution of the diocese, the Chair of the Committee on Credentials moves that this 148th Convention admit with seat and voice the following individuals: the Sisters of the Community of the Transfiguration; all non-canonically resident clergy licensed to officiate; and the lay members of diocesan staff.
b. Article VI, Section I of the Constitution gives seat and voice to several named people, namely Lay Members of the Standing Committee and Diocesan Council, the Lay Deputies to General Convention, the Lay Trustees of the Diocese of Southern Ohio, the Chancellor, the Treasurer of the Diocese and the members of the Executive Board of the Episcopal Church Women of the Diocese.

5.    Appointment of officers of convention 

a. Convention Secretary: Canon Julie Murray
b. Recording Secretary: Ms. Sarah Beegle
c.  Timekeeper: The Rev. William Sangrey
d. Parliamentarian: Eric Landen, Esq.
e.  Chief Teller: The Rev. Michael Spencer
f.  Committee to Approve the Minutes: President of the Trustees of the Diocese (Canon Jon Boss), President of the Standing Committee (The Rev. Canon Scott Gunn), and First Vice-President of Diocesan Council (Mr. David Thomson)

6.    Ratification by name of canonically required appointments

a.     Treasurer: Nadya Richardson
b.     Registrar and Historiographer: The Rev. Anne Warrington Wilson
c.     Finance Committee: Nadya Richardson (chair), Jeff Baldridge, Cynthia Bronson, John Harris, Patrick Hreachmack, Doug Langenfeld, Bill Ubbes, Carolyn Wilmesherr, Dot Yeager, Randy Young
d.     Commission on Congregational Life Chair: Michael Tigner
e.     Dispatch of Business Chair: The Rev. Canon John Johanssen

7.    Approval of Annual Commission Reports
8.    Approval of Minutes of the 147th Annual Convention

Print the Consent Agenda

Back to top